Four MLBbros won the league’s Heart and Hustle Award.

Created by Major League Baseball’s alumni association in 2005, the award is voted on by alumni and active MLB players.

The prestigious award, which is presented annually, is given to those players who demonstrate an infectious passion for the game of baseball and embody the spirit and traditions of the game both on and off the field. 

The MLBbros who best fit the description for the 2021 Heart and Hustle Award for their respective squads, all hail from the American League.


Leading off, is the lone wolf of the pack, Tim Anderson of the Chicago White Sox out of the AL Central.  New York Yankees slugger Aaron Judge, Toronto Blue Jays All-Star Marcus Semien and MLBBro All-Star Cedric Mullins all reside in the American League East.


The measure of a good teammate is someone who brings that same energy day in and day out.

One of those high-energy guys is Mullins, aka CM Storm, who took to Twitter after receiving word that he was selected.

Mullins said, “It’s an honor to be selected for the 2021 #HeartandHustle Award!! It’s my goal every day to go out and play hard and to the best of my ability. I am truly grateful that my play and hard work has been recognized by my peers!!”

The future Gold Glove recipient told MLB Central, “It’s a great feeling knowing that the hard work I put in through the struggles of being promoted to the Bigs, being the opening day starter then finding my way back to Double-A that same year and just taking a step back.

Figuring out how to find the success again at those levels then translating it into the Majors is an amazing feeling.”

The Selection Process

The MLBPAA devise committees features past legends for all 30 teams who kept a relationship with their former organizations. As the season comes to an end, the organization’s committees and those still trotting on the field, select one player from each ball club by way of a vote to announce the finalist of each organization.

Past MLBbros to receive the award are: Torii Hunter (2011), Josh Harrison (2014) and Mookie Betts (2018).


The announcement of the overall League winner from the 30 individual winners of the award will take place sometime in November, with coverage taking place on the MLB Network. 

For more information regarding the Heart and Hustle Award, please visit or follow them on all multimedia platforms at MLBPAA with the official hashtag #HeartandHustle for the award.

Share This