When it comes to All-Star games, L.A. Dodgers outfielder Mookie Betts is no stranger. He will make his seventh appearance as an All-Star this year in Seattle.


But he will be making his first appearance in the Home Run Derby. That’s right, Betts will be the only bro competing this year. 


MLBbro Mookie Betts Announces Intentions to Join the Home Run Derby…On One Condition


Last month, Betts stated that he would want to participate in the Home Run Derby only if he was named an all-star. Well, there was no surprise that he was going to make the All-Star team and be a starter at that.


Mookie Betts Has His Long Ball Stroke Going As He Prepares For MLB All-Star Week’s Home Run Derby


Our very own Justin Petrille did a story on Betts after it was announced that he would be participating in the Home Run Derby. In the story, Petrille talked about how Betts’ wife made a comparison to NBA great LeBron James not participating in the dunk contest.


Now the world will get to see Betts display his power on July 10. The 30-year-old will look to become the first Dodger to win the competition and the 12th MLBbro to win. Don’t sleep on Betts either, this brother has some pop in his bat and could be a serious contender to win the derby.


Through 81 games this season, he has belted 22 home runs, to lead the Dodgers.



The last MLBbro to win the Home Run Derby was Aaron Judge back in 2017. He went on to defeat Miguel Sano. Since 2010, three MLBbro’s have won the competition and Betts can make it number four this year. Let’s take a look at all of the MLBbro’s who have won the Home Run Derby.


The bro’s who have been crowned Home Run Derby Champs


  • 1985- Dave Parker (Cincinnati Reds)
  • 1986-Darryl Strawberry (New York Mets)
  • 1987- Andre Dawson (Chicago Cubs)
  • 1989- Eric Davis (Cincinnati Reds)
  • 1994- Ken Griffey Jr. (Seattle Mariners)
  • 1995- Frank Thomas (Chicago White Sox)
  • 1996- Barry Bonds (San Francisco Giants)
  • 1998- Ken Griffey Jr. (Seattle Mariners)
  • 1999- Ken Griffey Jr. (Seattle Mariners)
  • 2006- Ryan Howard (Philadelphia Phillies)
  • 2009- Prince Fielder (Milwaukee Brewers)
  • 2016- Giancarlo Stanton (Miami Marlins)
  • 2017- Aaron Judge (New York Yankees)


There’s been a good representation of our MLBbro’s in Home Run Derby competitions. As you can see, the bro’s dominated the contest in the early 1980s and also during the 1990s. 


Ken Griffey Jr., one of the best hitters of all time, leads all MLBbros with three Home Run Derby crowns. 



On that list you can see that those are some brothers who know how to swing that stick.


Mookie Betts can add another piece of hardware to his impressive collection. This should be an exciting Home Run Derby so you want to make sure you tune in and see how Betts will do in his debut.

Share This